Is vs. Ought

On my way home today, I thought about the phrase:

Treat others as you want to be treated.

Most think of this as an “ought”–something that describes a state of affairs where you are telling someone how they ought to be, even though they might not be.

I decided today that I’m just going to apply this as an is. Namely, I’m going to take my observations of how people actually treat others–and then treat them the same.

If you treat others with respect–then you will have earned my respect.

Treat others as objects to be manipulated, and I shall do the same back.

No false equivalences anymore.  No unfair asymmetries.

You get what you give.

About Prof. Woland

I contain multitudes. Come meet us.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

