Time and change

Although I tend to be a rather temperamentally conservative/cautious guy by nature (do not mistake this for political conservatism or I’ll eat you alive..), I do appreciate change–and especially the cyclic change in nature contrasted with the conscious progressive change that humans can effect.

IMG_0931

For example–this was our front yard on March 11th of this year.  We had a long winter that was only just beginning to think about leaving us at this point.. but the appearance of something other than whiteness at this stage was remarkably welcome.

In the foreground–off to the right, you can see the three raised garden boxes that I grow food in for my family.  I do this because I’ve discovered I love growing food–and that shouldn’t be that surprising to me–considering that both my mom and my paternal grandfather liked to keep gardens–although theirs were more flower oriented and geared towards victorian styles.

In any case–this is the same spot by May 4th of this year.

IMG_0935

What you can see–beyond the obvious disappearance of the snow (FINALLY)– is that I have fashioned a 4th garden box for food (I needed a separate spot for peppers after the tomatoes totally shaded them out last year..).  In front of those boxes, there was also a rather extensive hole (pictured below) where a half-dead, entirely ugly ground evergreen bush/tangle monstrosity had been removed.

IMG_0936What was not so fun about taking this monstrosity out was that it’s root structure was fairly deeply embedded into the ground and this ground was composed almost entirely of rocks that the previous owners had put in underneath it.

Digging that up was terrible–it took hours and many, many wheelbarrows full of rocks are now in the backyard.

In any case–the front yard had been even further changed up through just yesterday, as seen here:
IMG_0948

As you can see–all of the garden boxes have migrated to their new–hopefully permanent spots on the lawn.  In addition, I’ve tarped off (with super not-playing-around weed barrier tarp..) the space between the boxes and covered it with recycled rubber tiles to make mowing (that hated activity) less bothersome and to improve the accessibility to the boxes.

IMG_0953

In terms of food, I’ve planted pole beans with the zucchini in the top right, then tomatoes, cucumbers (with trellises to climb), borage, and a few peppers at bottom right.  In the top left, I’ve planted mostly tomatoes, some basil,some borage, and a leftover pepper, while in the bottom left, it’s entirely hot peppers (Jalepeno, Serrano, Hot Banana, Fajita, and a Carolina Reaper) with oregano interspersed amongst them.

All of this endeavor took some time–and it entails (as seen below) some reseeding of grass where two of the garden boxes used to be located.

IMG_0954

Change. A lot of it.

Some of it through no work of my own, but a lot of it through conscious effort.  This is what it can create and build.

This is also where I find my happiness… working in the world and making it better for my family and friends.

About Prof. Woland

I contain multitudes. Come meet us.
This entry was posted in Eating & Food, Nature and tagged , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

