Creation of Worlds

Where do you create your worlds?

I create mine on the inside.

Within me.

Millions and billions of them.

multiverse1

I have always done this–it always came naturally–and part of me–despite knowing the differences between how people see and experience the world (see the numerous and detailed posts here about mbti etc…), it had not occurred to me that others didn’t do this with ease.

I mean–how else would you just solve certain problems and work through certain stuff.

But that’s just the point..


The act of creation is something that is not the same for people.  How people create, with which materials, and where they do so are particular to the person and to forget this is to become lazy and to forget the diversity that is present throughout humanity.
creation

This has been clear to me for a long time, especially since I have so many artistic friends–in particular musicians–who are constantly creating new stuff.

I am entirely “non-artistic” though.. I don’t make music and I have never wanted to–I’ve never wanted to be a rock star.

This doesn’t necessarily mean I am not creative, however.  Instead, my creativity lies in different places–in making all kinds of spaceships with legos when I was a kid (each of which was like a Star Wars Battle Cruiser… )–or drawing huge murals with monsters fighting–or creating entire worlds for role-playing games–including maps and cities and city populations (see the Duchy of Hirakith that I created…)Maphir1

That’s where my personal creativity usually expresses itself.

These worlds all came from the inside of me… but that’s not the only way you can create a world.

Creating an abstract model.. a visualization of a complex process… this is also creating a “world.”   It may be a very small world–but it’s a world nonetheless–as it is a space that abides by certain rules and concepts.

Thus–constructing  an internal representation of a supply & demand graph in your head and then playing forward how different factors would shift this graph–that’s all something dealing with an internal world.

I had never realized this until my best half pointed this out to me two days ago.

Specifically, we were talking about the whole process of learning economics–she’s taking a class in economics–and she was noting specifically that it sometimes took her a bit of time to figure out these kinds of answers, because, “I have to create an entire world in my head to figure this out… ”

And that’s when it struck me that she was 100% right about that.  You do have to create a world for that mental process.

This was something that did not come natural to her.  She was picking it up quickly (she learns fast as the dickens..)… but it wasn’t natural yet to create these worlds.

This does not mean that she doesn’t create her own worlds all the time.. She does, but she usually creates worlds in the external, objective reality.

She creates a world when she performs (as seen here as the lead singer of Sensuous Enemy…  )
cyber_perversion___sensuous_enemy_by_lauren_v-d6ezv75

She creates a world when she decorates our house.  She creates a world when she creates a menu or a schedule for the conferences that she helps to manage at her work.

She is an extravert–and her primary and natural reality is the external cosmos.  This is where things are “real” in the most easy sense for her.

Internal worlds, on the other hand, are the playground of introverts by and large in my experience.  That is where they are more comfortable–and thus that is where they first and most naturally create their worlds.

Not that there aren’t crossovers.  Being an extravert does not restrict you to the external world any more than being an introvert would restrict you to the internal world.  People may have natural tendencies–but they also can learn and become more than what they were.

I, for example, also create worlds when I cook and when I garden.  As it stands, I’m chomping at the bit to rebuild and expand my garden…

IF

It is but a small thing so far–but it is a world for me–and not an internal one.  It exists out here and while it may have significant meaning on the inside for me–the reality of it is external and something I enjoy the physicality of it.

If anything–gardens are a great example of created worlds and I’ll leave everyone with a view of a very famous garden that I once got to walk through–the Herrenhaeuser Gaerten outside of Hannover, Germany.  Created by Sophia–the Electress of Hannover–they played an important role in the political affairs of the early 18th century..and they are a world unto themselves.

herrenhaeuser-gaerten-ii-ff695e4b-ce0a-432b-aa8e-1d59a74fe927

 

About Prof. Woland

I contain multitudes. Come meet us.
This entry was posted in Human Nature and Mind, Images and Visualization, Nature and tagged , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

